Paris Pact September 3, 1783

Paris Pact September 3, 1783:

In 1783, the British Parliament decided that it was pointless to carry on the war. Lord North resigned as Prime Minister. King George lost control over the House of Commons. The new Prime Minister Lord Rockingham started the peace talks. A peace treaty was signed between Great Britain and America in 1783 in Paris. George Washington (1732–1799) became the first president of the United States of America. One of the founding fathers of America, he played a significant role in the American Revolution first as a military officer and later as an astute politician.

The significant provisions of the Paris Pact are as follows:

  • England gave recognition to the independence of 13 American colonies. The new nation (the United States of America) also got possession of British regions that lay between the River Mississippi and the Algerian mountains.
  • France obtained from England, Saint Lucia, and Tobago in the West Indies; Senegal and Gouri in Africa, and some regions of India.
  • Spain got Florida and the Isle of Minorca in the Mediterranean sea.
  • Holland and England maintained the status quo that prevailed before the war.
  • The boundary of America was demarcated along the river Ohio.
Important Links:

Ideas and Principles
Negligible Interference by British Government
No Affection for England in the American Colonies
Development of Intellectual Awareness
The Colonists Love for Freedom
Impact of Seven Years War
Economic Exploitation of the Colonies
Greenville Policy
Rockingham Declaratory Act
Townshend Tax Project
Lord North Tea Policy
Intercontinental Conference of the Congress
Declaration of Independence
Independence War of USA Significant Events
The Constitution of America
Causes of the Failure of the English
Nature of the Independence War of USA
American Revolution or American War of Independence